Home » baked goods » Perfect Pie Crust

Perfect Pie Crust

This is THE pie crust recipe! I was so delighted when I tried this recipe and it worked, you seriously can’t mess it up! If you’re around food sites much or watch the Food Network, then you are probably familiar with Ree Drummond, ” The Pioneer Woman”. She is pretty much my idol and I try and mimic her cooking skills as much as I can. I loved her website even before she was “famous”and when I found out she was getting her own show on Food Network my heart just opened up and sang! She is so down to earth and I love that she lives on a cattle ranch and she makes most everything homemade. I love the style of cooking that she does, it’s so homey, and I love that she “real ingredients”, things that most people have on hand. It’s frustrating when you are skimming through a recipe and it calls for some crazy ingredient that your typical grocery store doesn’t carry. Usually with those recipes I just don’t even attempt them, after all I am a busy, budgeting mama and don’t normally have the time or resources to be driving around town trying to find some ingredient for a recipe that I will probably only use once. I try and keep my recipes down to earth and unintimidating, I feel like Ree does that too, maybe that’s why I like her so much šŸ˜‰ Anyways, (I tend to get off on tangents occasionally…) this is Ree’s recipe for pie crust. I use this crust with my sweet pies and also my savory pies, like chicken pot pie. It’s so easy, it’s freezable, and it is delicious and flaky! I will never use another pie crust recipe šŸ™‚

Ingredients:
* 1 1/2 cups vegetable shortening (I use Crisco)
* 3 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 egg
* 5 tbsp. cold water
* 1 tbsp. white distilled vinegar
* 1 tsp. salt

Now, before I go any further you may be looking at a certain ingredient on this list and thinking “no way”! Before you toss the recipe, please hear me out! You cannot taste the vinegar at all, I 100% promise! It is truly the secret ingredient to this crust and it is what makes it so flaky and perfect! I was also skeptical at first, but am so so glad I gave it a shot! I promise you that you won’t regret it either!

20130730-082332.jpg

Directions:
In a large bowl with a pastry cutter, gradually work the shortening into the flour for about 3 to 4 minutes; until it resembles a course meal. In a small bowl, beat an egg with a fork and then add it into the flour/shortening mixture. Add the cold water, the vinegar, and the salt to the bowl. Stir together gently until all ingredients are incorporated. Separate the dough in half and form 2 uniform balls. Now, place each dough ball into its own gallon zipper bag and flatten each ball slightly (while in the bag), this will make for easier rolling later on.
Place your flattened dough bag in the freezer until you need it, or if you’re going to use it the same day, still chill it in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes.

20130730-084616.jpg

20130730-084635.jpg

When you’re ready to use the crust, let it thaw for 15 minutes (if from the freezer) if you’re using it from the fridge you can roll it out immediately. On a floured surface, roll out the dough to 1/2 inch in diameter larger than your pie plate. Place it in your pie plate and continue on with your baking adventure, knowing that you have just conquered the “elusive pie crust”!

20130730-084845.jpg

20130730-084855.jpg

One thought on “Perfect Pie Crust

  1. Pingback: Caramel Apple Pie | mariahsrustickitchen

Leave a Reply

