Home » chicken » Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie

I love chicken pot pie! The only time I’d ever had it growing up was out of a frozen box…since I don’t feed my family that way, chicken pot pie seemed out of the realm of possibilities for me. For some reason it was so daunting, I don’t know if it was the crusts or what, but it was scary! I finally found a recipe that seemed like something I could tackle and I gave it a shot! I’m so glad I did because it is quite delicious! My husband and daughter gobble it up and I love it because there are always leftovers for lunch the next day and then some. This pot pie does take some prep work and I usually start the whole process sometime in the early afternoon if I want to have it ready by 5:30 pm (we eat super early because Paisley gets hungry). The last time I made this recipe I doubled the filling and my crust recipe and just popped the excess in the freezer. This is such a simple thing to put together if you already have the main components made. Also be sure to pair it with “The Perfect Pie Crust” recipe (see previous post), it’s a match made in Heaven!

Ingredients:
* 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast halves; cubed
* 16 oz. bag frozen peas and carrots
* 1/2 cup sliced celery
* 1 large or 2 small potatoes
* 1/3 cup butter
* 1/3 cup chopped onion
* 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
* 1/2 tsp. course salt
* 1/4 tsp. black pepper
* 1/4 tsp. celery seed (or more if you want, I personally love the flavor)!
* 32 oz. carton chicken stock or broth (reserve 1 3/4 cups chicken broth)
* 2/3 cup milk
* 2 (9-inch) pie crusts

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425F.
In a large pot, combine chicken, carrots, peas, potatoes, and celery. Add the chicken broth and boil for 15 minutes. Remove from heat, drain (reserving 1 3/4 cups chicken broth for filling), and set aside.
Place the bottom crust in the pie pan and dab with a fork a few times. Place in the preheated oven and cook for 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.
In a large saucepan, cook onions in butter (over medium heat) until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper, and celery seed. Next, slowly stir in chicken broth remains and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and combine with the chicken, carrots, peas, and celery mixture.
Bump the oven temperature down to 375F. Place the chicken filling in bottom crust, cover with top crust; sealing the edges and cutting away excess dough. Make several slits in the top to allow the steam to escape.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool for 10 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

20130731-075114.jpg

20130731-075128.jpg

Leave a Reply

