Home » chicken » Chicken and Noodles

Chicken and Noodles

Another meal my cousin made while I was in CO was chicken and noodles. I had forgotten about this recipe, but my mom used to make it and it was my favorite meal growing up. Looking back on it, it’s really not that healthy of a meal and has so many carbs, but boy is it worth it! My family serves it over mashed potatoes (homemade of course) with lots of butter! It truly is a treat and perfect for Fall! Now that it’s September I’m willing it to be Fall! I can’t wait for sweaters, chilly weather, hot cocoa, crackling leaves, pumpkins…. ahhhhh Fall 🙂

Ingredients:
* 1 whole chicken (I just bought a whole chicken and roasted it, but you can buy a rotisserie one from the grocery store and cut out half the work that way)
* 1 cup diced celery
* 3/4 cup diced onion
* 1 (16 oz) bag of frozen Homestyle egg noodles (I’ll post a picture of them, they can be pretty tricky to find some places)
* 4-5 chicken bouillon cubes
* salt and pepper
* 4-5 large russet potatoes
* milk and butter for making mashed potatoes

Directions:
Ok, let’s start with the chicken. If you’re using a rotisserie chicken, then just skip this step, but if not then read on 🙂

Preheat your oven to 400F. Spray a baking dish, big enough to hold your chicken, with cooking spray and set aside. Wash your chicken and pat dry with paper towels. If I was going to be making this as the star of the meal I would add some different herbs and spices and lather him up with butter! However, since I was just making this for the chicken meat I didn’t go as fancy. All I did was just sprinkle the chicken with some salt and pepper and covered it with foil. I baked it for about an hour, until the juices ran clear. Then I removed the foil and popped it back in for about 15 minutes longer to give it some nice color. This last step I suppose wasn’t really necessary since I wasn’t putting it on a serving platter, but to me the bird just needed some color 🙂

20130905-152540.jpg

After your chicken is cooked, remove from the oven and allow to cool until it is safe to handle.

20130905-152641.jpg

Next, start taking apart your chicken and place all the good meat that you’re going to use in a bowl. This time I didn’t save the bones, but you definitely could if you’re wanting to make stock and freeze it for later.

Now, place your good chicken meat, onions, and celery in a big stock pot. Cover it about an inch from the top with water and place 4-5 bouillon cubes into the pot. Let this cook over medium heat for about 15 minutes. You want the vegetables just to lose that crunch but not get soft.

20130905-153130.jpg

Next, add in your frozen egg noodles. I’ve found since moving across the country that these can be difficult to find. I tried two stores here with no luck and then finally found them at the commissary. I hope they don’t give you too much trouble with finding them, they’re more of a west coast thing I think, and some people have no idea what I’m talking about when. Try and describe them. You could possibly find them at Walmart or a store that is common everywhere. I’m not sure if you could really substitute another noodle, they really are what make the dish.

20130905-155406.jpg

Once you’ve added the noodles, continue cooking for about a half an hour or until the noodles are tender. The mixture will thicken up a bit from the noodle starch as it cooks. At this time boil your potatoes and make into mashed potatoes.

20130905-155553.jpg

This is what it should look like once everything has been cooked. It will resemble a thick soup, it would probably be good on its own as sort of a chicken stew, but my mom always served it over mashed potatoes, and it is quite delicious that way!

20130905-155757.jpg

I hope you enjoy this hearty meal!

Leave a Reply

