Home » breakfast » Cousin Kent’s Famous Pancakes!

Cousin Kent’s Famous Pancakes!

Guess what?! Another Colorado recipe to share! My Cousin Kent made pancakes while we were there and they were oh so good! So perfect and airy, just like a pancake should be! I got his recipe, and over the weekend made a big breakfast for my family, the famous pancakes included! He added chocolate chips to his, but they are delicious with or without any add-ins. I’m thinking blueberries would be awesome in them too!

Ingredients:
* 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
* 3 1/2 tsp. baking powder (seems like a lot, but this is what gives them the airiness)
* 2 eggs
* 1 tsp. salt (can omit if using salted butter)
* 1 tbsp. granulated sugar
* 1 1/4 cups milk
* 3 tbsp. melted butter (I used unsalted and still kept the salt in the recipe but you can do vice-versa too, I’m pretty sure my family just used the salt and salted butter and they came out great. I’ve just had a bad experience with too salty of pancakes before so I’m leery)

Directions:

20130909-075837.jpg

Sift all dry ingredients into a medium sized bowl.

20130909-075910.jpg

Add in wet ingredients and whisk together.

20130909-075952.jpg

Ladle out the pancake mixture onto a greased skillet or non-stick pan. The size will vary depending on how big or small you like your pancakes. I usually go for about a medium sized pancake, that way I still have some room to put anything in them if I want. This time I did chocolate chips for a treat.

20130909-080203.jpg

Let the pancakes cook for 3-4 minutes, you want to watch for the bubbling to stop and for the edges to start looking firm. You can always take a peak with your turner to see how they’re doing, and when you need to flip.

20130909-080356.jpg

Once your pancakes are done, remove them to a plate and serve right away. You can always heat them up later, but they are best right off the griddle. They also keep well in the refrigerator and are a nice, fast breakfast for the next few mornings.

Leave a Reply

