Home » beef » Coca-Cola Pot Roast!

Coca-Cola Pot Roast!

I have been in search of “The” pot roast for a few years now. I did make one for Hubby’s work one day and they said it was the best they’d ever had, but of course I didn’t write down the recipe and now it’s gone forever from my mind šŸ˜¦ Don’t you just hate that?! I write down everything and am a total list maker and the one time I don’t, it’s the best one yet! Grrr! I shall find you again delicious roast recipe, one day, one day….! So, I’m on the hunt for the perfect roast, as I mentioned up top. This recipe intrigued me and sort of disgusted me at the same time, the first time I read the ingredients. The recipe called for a can of coke, coke! This just seems way out of line to me, but also peeked my interest that maybe it could possibly match the one I made in the past. I read a lot of reviews from the previous recipe that said the carbonic acid in the soda helped to tenderize the meat, this made sense and swayed me to give it a shot! Before I go any further, I promise you the soda will not make it taste sweet, it still will have the flavor of a traditional pot roast, so don’t worry about that.

Ingredients:
* your favorite roast, (I usually go with a bottom round roast, I’m not sure if its the most tender of the roasts, but it usually works well since it gets slow cooked anyway. I usually get slightly larger roasts, 3-4 pounds, so that we will have leftover meat the next day for French Dips, mmm)!
* 1 packet of McCormick’s savory pot roast seasoning packet (you can typically find this with the rest of the seasonings packets in your grocery store)
* 12 oz. can (1 1/2 cups) of coca-cola or Pepsi, whatever you have, you must use regular sugared soda and not diet though.

Directions:

Place your roast in the crockpot, mix 1 cup of water with the seasoning packet and add it and the soda to the crockpot.

Cover and cook on High for 5 hours or low for 9. The longer you cook it, the more tender it will become, it just takes a bit more planning. You could even put it in before you retire to bed and you’ll wake up to a delicious aroma and your pot roast cooked. Whatever works best for you šŸ™‚ I put mine in about 7:00 am and by dinner at 6:00 pm it was falling apart šŸ™‚ The most important thing you have to remember when cooking a roast in the crockpot is to NOT lift the lid. I am very guilty of this, I’m not a very patient person and I like to check on it, a lot… resist doing this! Every time you open the lid a lot of steam escapes and the crockpot has to work harder. It takes twice as long to get the meat tender as it would have if the lid is not lifted. I know it’s hard to wait, but trust me, the outcome is worth it!

Once it’s done, pull it out and slice it up, you really don’t even need a knife, it will just fall apart with your fork, such a beautiful sight!
My report: This was pleasantly surprising and I will probably make this again in the future. It still isn’t “The” pot roast but still good nonetheless šŸ™‚

20130911-155554.jpg

20130911-155603.jpg

20130911-155650.jpg

20130911-155700.jpg

Leave a Reply

