Home » potatoes » Restaurant-Style Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Restaurant-Style Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Potatoes are another one of those comfort things I love. There are so many different ways to prepare them and I don’t think I’ve ever come across a way I didn’t care for. I think my all time favorite potatoes would have to be my Grandma’s though, I don’t know what it is about hers, but they are just the best! I’ve tried duplicating her recipe, even making them with her standing right by me and mine just never come out the same. I guess that’s just the thing about Grandma’s, they are just naturally fabulous cooks! I normally just make traditional mashed potatoes with butter and salt and those are fine, but lately I’ve been into experimenting a little bit and came across this recipe. I tried it last night and we all really liked them, they are a nice change if you’re looking to spice up your regular recipe a bit. The only thing we found was that they were a bit sticky, (however thats totally understandable because the recipe does not call for milk, I know, strange)! but other than that really good!

Ingredients:
* 6-8 red potatoes, quartered, with the skins left on
* 1 1/2 tsp. coarse Kosher salt, divided
* 1/4 tsp. black pepper, more or less to taste
* 1 tsp. garlic powder
* 1/2 cup sour cream
* 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
* 1/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces, softened

Directions:

20130911-150654.jpg

Place your quartered potatoes in a large pot and fill just enough to cover the potatoes. Add in 1 tsp. of the Kosher salt to your water, this just gives the potatoes flavor. Bring the water to a boil, then turn the heat down to medium-low and cover. Let the potatoes simmer for about 20-25 minutes, or until they are fork tender.

Meanwhile, in the bowl of a stand mixer (you can also mix by hand with an electric mixer) add in the remaining Kosher salt, pepper, sour cream, garlic powder, Parmesan, and butter.

20130911-151427.jpg

Once your potatoes have cooked, drain them and add them into your mixer with the other ingredients.

20130911-151526.jpg

Mix all the ingredients together over medium speed, until they are smooth and everything is combined. As I mentioned earlier, they may be a little bit sticky, but you could probably add a splash or two of milk to combat this.

These would be great served with a steak, however last night I served them with a pot roast (recipe to follow) and they were a big hit! They really do taste like potatoes you would find at a restaurant.

Leave a Reply

