Home » side dishes » The correct way to cook frozen vegetables!

The correct way to cook frozen vegetables!

So I’m a silly goose, I totally know how to boil water and cook veggies, but I just never thought they quite came out just right. I have to make them soft enough too for my one year old. Frozen vegetables are another one of the few frozen items I buy. I know that fresh is obviously better, but I like to keep a variety of frozen vegetables on hand so I always have them at the ready. I finally figured out how to boil my frozen vegetables perfectly! This may seem really silly and like common sense to a lot of you, but to me I’m excited that I finally got the technique down!

Ingredients:
* 1 bag of your favorite frozen vegetables. I’ve now tried this technique with peas, mixed vegetables, carrots, and French cut green beans, and it works perfect every time!
* 1/2 cup water

Directions:
Place 1/2 cup of water in a medium sized pan and bring it to a boil. Pour in your vegetables, stir, and bring the water back up to a boil. Now, reduce the heat to low and cover the pan with a lid. Let cook for 8-10 minutes, or your desired softness. I’ve found that green beans take longer to cook than the smaller less dense vegetables, like peas.
I hope this helps out some other people and persuades you to eat more vegetables! šŸ˜‰

20130923-090708.jpg

Leave a Reply

