Home » side dishes » Crockpot Applesauce Take 1

Crockpot Applesauce Take 1

I love homemade applesauce and grew up helping my mom make it. She would make a huge batch of it during the summer and then freeze a bunch in our deep freeze for the cold winter months. I remember eating it as a treat warmed up, it is such a cozy memory and one that I hope to recreate with my own daughter. When my mom made applesauce she used some crazy sieve looking thing with a crank turner. If I remember correctly, she would boil the apples, crank turn them through that contraption, remove all the cores and stems, then sweeten it, and probably do some more steps I missed. That sounds like an awful lot of work to me, especially considering the sieve turner thing looks as if it’s on its last leg! Haha, so I went looking and found a MUCH simpler way of producing homemade applesauce!

Ingredients:
* 4 large apples, or 8 small ones (I used golden delicious and i think a few Granny Smith apples snuck it there too) the original recipe said you could use any apples you wanted, and maybe next time I’ll experiment with a Macintosh or other redder apple and see what the results yield with those.
* 1/2 a lemon, squeezed
* 1/2 cup water
* 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
* 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:
Begin by peeling, coring, and slicing your apples and placing them in the crockpot. Next, juice your lemon and add that to the apples, along with the water, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. Give this a good stir, so that all the apples are evenly coated.
Place the lid on the crockpot and cook on high for 4-5 hours. My apples were very soft after 4 hours, so I would say to check it about that time. If they are ready, mash them with a potato masher or a fork. They should be quite soft and mash easily. Place your applesauce into a container and refrigerate. I used a couple of Mason jars, because it just seemed like an appropriate container for such a rustic mixture šŸ™‚ I think this would be a really cute thing to give the neighbors/ friends/family as gifts in the fall or even to go in a basket with some baked treats as a Christmas present! Next time I plan on doubling the recipe as this only yields two pint sized jars full. I cannot wait to eat this on my pork chops I have brining in coffee in the fridge! Yep, you heard me right, COFFEE! I hope they turn out well! If so, I’ll post the recipe tomorrow! šŸ™‚

20130924-160811.jpg

20130924-160824.jpg

20130924-160830.jpg

I used this handy little kitchen tool, smart huh?

20130924-160902.jpg

20130924-160910.jpg

20130924-160919.jpg

20130924-160928.jpg

20130924-160941.jpg

I was very pleased with this recipe, it’s still not quite like how I remember my mom’s. Since this was so easy, I think I’ll keep exploring and maybe next time just add a hint of brown sugar for some warmth and sweetness!

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Applesauce Take 1

    • Thanks so much for replying Me! You are very welcome, I love Fall and anything with the warm flavors of cinnamon šŸ™‚ I really enjoyed this recipe, however my husband thought it was too chunky :/ I’m thinking about just running it through my magic bullet next time. Do you add any brown sugar by chance?

Leave a Reply

