Home » cookies » Caramel Apple Pie Cookies

Caramel Apple Pie Cookies

Hubby actually found this recipe and asked me if I would give it a shot. I usually prefer to make components of recipes from scratch, however after looking at this one, that is just not feasible with the busy life I lead right now. So I improvised a little bit and used the store bought caramel sauce and canned apple pie filling, but I made my own crust, that still counts as homemade right? 😉

Ingredients:

* 1 can apple pie filling
* 1 cup caramel sauce
* 2 homemade pie crusts (you can also buy them at the store, they’re in the refrigerated section typically)
* 1 egg (for an egg wash)
* 2 tbsp. cinnamon- sugar mixture
* 1 tbsp. ground nutmeg

Directions:
Make your pie crusts, or if you’re using pre-made ones then just skip this step. If you’re making your own, I have “the perfect pie crust” recipe on here and it works great for any pie, including these pie cookies! Once you’ve made your crusts, place them in the refrigerator and let them stiffen up a bit, about 15 minutes or so.
Preheat your oven to 350F. Next, spray a baking sheet with non stick spray and roll out your dough. Use a circular cookie cutter or a round object to cut out appropriate sized circles from your dough. These circles will be your cookies, so just make them however big you want the cookies to be. All I could find at the time was a (clean) sippy cup of my daughter’s, it looked about the right size so I gave it a shot! 😉 Once you’ve laid out your circles on your baking tray, you’ll start to “build” the pies.
Place a small amount of caramel on each cookie, not too much, but enough to cover the top. Then chop up the apples in the pie filling (they’re a little too big for these cookies) into smaller chunks. Place about a tablespoonful of filling onto each cookie, on top of the caramel layer.
Next, take your second pie crust and cut it into strips. These strips will be the lattice top “crust” of your pie cookies. Mine are not tidy at all and I just sort of winged it with the top, but I did two strips and then tucked two more strips into those strips (sorry, I know that is confusing)! You can just google lattice crust and get an idea or just lay the strips across one another. They’ll turn out cute any way you do it I’m sure 🙂
Now, brush the tops with the egg wash and sprinkle your cinnamon-sugar mix and nutmeg over them. Bake the cookies for 20-25 minutes or until the bottoms start looking just barely golden brown.
These came out a lot better than I was expecting and they really are like little mini apple pies! Happy Fall!! 🙂

20130925-145523.jpg

Dough after it’s been chilled for a bit. It’s a lot easier to work with if it’s a little cold, versus room temperature.

20130925-145614.jpg

20130925-145627.jpg

20130925-145637.jpg

20130925-145644.jpg

Who knew sippy cups would come in handy when baking?!

20130925-145720.jpg

20130925-145727.jpg

20130925-145735.jpg

Very messy lattice tops, but you get the idea 😉

20130925-145807.jpg

20130925-145852.jpg

I’m anxiously awaiting Hubby’s return from work, I can’t wait to surprise him with these cookies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

