Home » beef » Super simple Crockpot Beef Stew!

Super simple Crockpot Beef Stew!

It’s beginning to really feel like Fall around here! Whoo hoo! 🙂 I had some stew meat in the freezer so I decided to throw together a beef stew. It was perfect stew weather yesterday so it seemed appropriate 🙂 I know I have another crockpot beef stew recipe on here, but I was feeling really lazy yesterday and just wanted to throw everything in the pot and be don’t with it. This recipe is even simpler than my other stew recipe and it came out just as good, if not better than that one!

Ingredients:
* 1 1/2- 2 pounds beef stew meat. Trimmed and cut into 1″ cubes
* 1/2 cup flour
* 1 1/2 tsp. salt
* 1/2 tsp. pepper
* 1 1/2 cups beef broth (I just buy the beef bouillon cubes and add water to them to make my own broth. It’s a lot more economical that way and I always have broth on hand)!
* 1 clove minced garlic
* 1 bay leaf
* 1 tsp. Paprika
* 5 carrots, sliced
* 1/2 an onion, chopped
* 4 stalks celery, sliced
* 5 small red potatoes, cubed

Directions:
Place the stew meat in the bottom of your slow cooker. Mix the flour, salt, and pepper and pour over the stew meat, stirring to coat. Next, add in the rest of the ingredients, except the potatoes, and give it a good stir. Cook on low for 8-9 hours. The original recipe said to cook for 10-12 hours with all the ingredients. This seemed a bit excessive to me and especially for the potatoes. A russet potato might hold up a little bit better to that cooking time, however since I just had red potatoes, it seemed too long. Red potatoes are more delicate and not as thick as a russet so I just placed my potatoes in a bowl and kept them in the fridge until I was ready to add them. I added them about 4 hours into the cooking time, and they were perfect by dinner time. I think they basically would have fallen apart, had I added them in at the beginning, so I was happy I made a good call 🙂 like I mentioned previously though, if you’re using russets, they may need to cook for a longer amount of time.
I hope you try this recipe and if so, report back whatever your opinion, good or bad 🙂
Peace and love!

20130927-092915.jpg

20130927-092928.jpg

20130927-092936.jpg

Leave a Reply

