Home » fruit » Crockpot Applesauce Take Two!

Crockpot Applesauce Take Two!

If you read my first applesauce post, you know I wasn’t completely happy with the results. It was delicious, but it just wasn’t quite right. Well folks, I am happy to announce I think I’ve got it this time!!! I would like to experiment next time with some different apples, just to see how it changes. The last time I used golden delicious apples and this time were gala’s. My mom always used granny smith’s when I was growing up, so maybe I’ll give those a try next. This time I think the applesauce improved because I cut back on the lemon juice and added a bit of brown sugar, so good!

Ingredients:
* 4 large, or 8 small Gala apples (I think I’ll try more next time, just so it yields more)
* 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice
* 1 tsp. cinnamon
* 1 tsp. vanilla
* 1/4 cup water
* 1 tbsp. brown sugar

Directions:
Peel, core, and slice apples and put them in the crockpot. Add the vanilla, lemon juice, water, brown sugar, and cinnamon to the crockpot. Give it a good stir and cover with lid. Cook on high 4-5 hours. Stir to mash or use a potato masher until you reach the desired consistency. Put the applesauce in Mason jars and refrigerate!

20131003-214239.jpg

Leave a Reply

