Home » main course » Stovetop Chicken Noodle Soup

Stovetop Chicken Noodle Soup

I love homemade chicken noodle soup, such a comfort food and perfect for Fall and Winter! I used to make my chicken noodle in the crockpot and that was good, however I think I like making it on the stove more. It saves a lot of time and I feel like I can adjust the cooking time easier than if it were in the crockpot. This soup is done in under three hours vs. 6+ in a crockpot.

Ingredients:
* 1/2 large, yellow onion
* 2 cloves garlic
* 8 carrots
* 3 ribs celery
* 2 tbsp. butter
* 11-12 cups of chicken broth ( I use bouillon cubes/granules, it saves a lot of money that way)
* 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
* 1/2 box of noodles ( I like Rotini noodles when I’m making this soup, but any noodle you have will essentially work)
* oregano, basil, salt, and pepper to taste

Directions:
Chop up the onion, celery, carrots, and garlic. In a large stockpot, melt the butter and add all the veggies (and garlic), except the carrots. We will add those in towards the end so they don’t turn to mush. Sauté the vegetables until the onions are translucent, but not brown, 5 minutes or so.
Add the whole chicken breasts to the pot, along with all the broth. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat once it’s boiling, and simmer for about 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.
Remove the chicken breasts and set aside. Add the carrots, and your spices, and increase the heat to medium. Shred the chicken. Once the carrots have cooked for about 10 minutes and are a little softer, add the noodles. Reduce the heat to a simmer and simmer uncovered until the noodles are tender. Add back in the chicken, and finally taste and adjust the seasonings as needed.

20131004-081854.jpg

I apologize I don’t have more pictures. I totally forgot to document my steps yesterday, this is a picture from the day after. The soup has been in the fridge and as you can see there’s not much left! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

