Home » beef » Lasagna Roll-ups

Lasagna Roll-ups

I had some spaghetti sauce leftover from when I made it last week, that I didn’t want to go to waste. I didn’t really feel like making a whole pan of lasagna so I just took a little short cut and made lasagna roll-ups. I’ve made an Alfredo roll-up rendition before that turned out well, so I decided to give it a try with a lasagna spin.
I do have to make a confession, I am not a huge cheese fan… I am sort of grossed out by a lot of cheese’s and I am not into experimenting with new cheese’s at all. I find blue cheese disgusting and am just really close minded to any of the others, besides the “normal” ones like cheddar, jack, and mozzarella. I also despise American cheese and will only eat it on a burger from a restaurant if there’s no other cheese options offered. I am sort of a freak about cheese (as you can probably tell) and even have to have cheddar cheese cut super thin for me to eat it, like I said…. Freak! Lol
Anyways, to get back on topic, I don’t care for ricotta cheese very much, and cottage cheese is even worse. This makes it sort of a tough when it comes to lasagna. Normally when I make it (which isn’t very often) I just do as little of the ricotta mixture that I can get away with. Today though, I didn’t have any on hand nor did I really want to use it anyway, so I just left it out! I just put the meat sauce and a lot of mozzarella cheese in the roll-ups and it was just fine that way, I didn’t even miss the extra cheese! I think I’m going to try my hand at making a lasagna this way in the future and see how it comes out. I’ll keep you updated on that experiment 🙂

Ingredients:
– lasagna noodles, just the regular kind, not no-boil
– your favorite spaghetti meat sauce, probably about 2-3 cups
– lots of shredded mozzarella, about 2-3 cups
– your favorite combination of Italian seasonings, I just did a mix of oregano and basil this time

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 375F. Spray a baking dish with non-stick spray and set aside.
Cook the lasagna noodles to al-dente, since they’ll be going in the oven you don’t want them to turn to mush. Place about 1/2 cup of your meat sauce in the bottom of your prepared pan.
Once the noodles are cooked, start building your roll-ups. Place one lasagna noodle flat on a clean surface. Add a good amount of meat sauce right on top of the noodle and spread the sauce from end to end. Top with quite a bit of shredded mozzarella and then finish off with your Italian seasonings. Roll up the noodle from one end and keep rolling until you reach the far end. Place the lasagna roll-up seam side down in the prepared pan. Do this same procedure for the rest of the lasagna noodles.
Once you’ve got all the roll-ups situated in the pan, pour your remaining sauce directly on top, and top with the rest of the shredded cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes, to get a nice color on the cheese.
Serve with garlic bread and a nice side salad.

20131021-214027.jpg

20131021-214037.jpg

20131021-214046.jpg

20131021-214056.jpg

20131021-214108.jpg

20131021-214210.jpg

20131021-214222.jpg

20131021-214231.jpg

Leave a Reply

