Home » chicken » Easy Sesame Chicken

Easy Sesame Chicken

I know I’ve posted a lot of beef recipes lately, so here’s a delicious chicken one for you guys! I’ve been planning on making this for awhile, but have sort of been putting it off. Here comes another crazy fact about me and my tastes… I despise eggs! At this point you’re probably thinking, “what the heck is wrong with this girl”?! Now, I don’t hate eggs entirely if they’re cooked into something such as a cake or bread, something where they are not detectable then that’s fine. However, I have a hard time getting past something that has chunks of egg in it or that eggs are one of the main ingredients. My mom told me my hatred of eggs began when I was a wee lass and she fed me half cooked scrambled eggs… That would be enough to scar anyone in my opinion! I have boycotted eggs for a long, long time now, while I was pregnant I tried to face my fear and I made some scrambled up with cheese and it was just as disgusting as I thought. I couldn’t even finish them, and I made Josh eat my portion. I know it’s probably mostly in my head, but the mind is a very powerful thing, so I will just continue to live my egg free life and be happy 🙂
Anyways, to get back to the point…. This recipe has the chicken coated in a cornstarch/egg mixture and then fried in a pan. To me, this screamed scrambled egg coated chicken! However, I finally put my big girl panties on and just made the dang recipe, and…. It was good! You can’t even taste the egg and it really acts as more of a breading anyway. I’m happy I made it and will repeat the recipe again, but I think I may try a bit of a different sauce. The sauce in the original recipe was good, but just seemed to be lacking something. I’ll have to experiment around with it in the future. Great weeknight meal though and really fast and easy!

Chicken Ingredients:
– 4-5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
– 1 large egg
– 2 tbsp. cornstarch
– 1 tsp. each of salt and pepper

Sauce Ingredients:
– 2 tbsp. soy sauce
– 1 tbsp. water
– 1/2 tbsp. toasted sesame oil (I omitted, because I didn’t have any on hand)
– 1 1/2 tbsp. brown sugar
– 1 1/2 tbsp. rice vinegar
– grated ginger, (I used ground ginger, about 1/2 tsp.)
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– 2 tbsp. sesame seeds
– 1 tbsp. cornstarch

Directions:
In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the “Chicken Ingredients”, (the egg, cornstarch, and seasonings). Trim off any excess fat from the chicken breasts and cut them into small pieces, about 1-inch in size. Toss the chicken in the egg/cornstarch mixture to coat.
Heat a large pan with about 2 tbsp. of canola oil. Let the oil come to temperature and then dump the entire bowl of chicken and egg mixture into the hot pan. Cook the chicken, only occasionally stirring until it’s golden brown and cooked through, about 8-10 minutes. Drain off excess oil from the pan.
While your chicken is cooking, prepare the sauce. In a small bowl, stir together all the “Sauce Imgredients”, the soy sauce, water, brown sugar, vinegar, ginger, garlic, sesame seeds, cornstarch, and sesame oil if you’re using. Set the mixture aside.
Once the chicken has finished cooking and the oil drained, add the sauce right to the hot pan. Mix the chicken and sauce around, once the sauce warms it will thicken right away. Once the sauce is heated, turn off the stove and move the pan to another burner to cool.
Serve the chicken on top of brown rice and sliced green onions if you like!

20131024-215834.jpg

20131024-215846.jpg

20131024-215855.jpg

20131024-215904.jpg

20131024-215912.jpg

20131024-215921.jpg

20131024-215931.jpg

20131024-215938.jpg

20131024-215945.jpg

20131024-215954.jpg

2 thoughts on “Easy Sesame Chicken

Leave a Reply

