Home » Uncategorized » Chili Dogs and Chili Burgers!

Chili Dogs and Chili Burgers!

Hubby and I watch a lot of Food Network, and we really enjoy Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives with Guy Fieri. We’ve noticed many times on his show that he visits these chili places that have the finest ground chili to put on top of burgers and hotdogs, I believe it’s technical term is “coney chili”. We always wondered how they got it so fine? Now, let me tell you one thing about my husband that makes me proud yet infuriates me all at the same time… The guy is beyond intelligent! He is incredibly smart and has the mind of an engineer (also what he is going to school for) and he can just figure things out just by looking at them. Whereas with myself, I’ll sit and think and think on something and he’ll come up and just figure it out just like that! I love him for that and that he is such a good problem solver, but man does it make me feel inferior some days! Hopefully Paisley gets his thought processing skills, or maybe not…just kidding šŸ˜‰
Anyways, the chili. I’m over here trying to figure out if they put it through some kind of a grinder or sieve, and Mr. Smartypants just says, “I think they just put the beef straight into the pot with everything and cook it”. My immediate thought, “hmmm, possibly, but how do they get it so fine”, “just by cooking it down” he answers nonchalantly… So, we put it to the test! I’m not going to post my recipe, because it was seriously lacking flavor and I don’t want to give you a recipe that I don’t 100% stand behind. However, I will say that the technique that we used, just putting the raw meat straight into your stock pot and then adding the other ingredients in, will achieve that fine “coney style” chili. Just make sure you cook it at least 3-4 hours to make sure the ground beef is fully cooked before tasting it and then adjust the seasonings as needed.

20131112-221412.jpg

This beaut would be a chili dog šŸ™‚

20131112-221459.jpg

Annnnddddd this would be a chili burger! Mmm!!!!!

Leave a Reply

