Home » cookies » Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Each year I like to try out a new cookie recipe for Christmas, there are so many of them out there that look good, so it gets really hard to pick one! I didn’t have much in my cupboards when I went to make them, so I decided on this simple cookie recipe. They are a recipe that you have to refrigerate the dough for, so it does involve waiting a bit, but boy were they worth it!
Hubby loved them, and told me they’ll have to be a must from Christmas’ here on out 🙂 Also, my neighbors really liked them, so it’s a win-win in my book! 🙂 They are fudge, light as air, but chewy at the same time. They taste like a light brownie to me, definitely a must try!

Ingredients:
– 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
– 2 cups granulated sugar
– 1/4 cup canola oil
– 1/4 cup melted butter
– 4 eggs
– 2 tsp. vanilla extract
– 2 cups all- purpose flour
– 2 tsp. baking powder
– 1/2 tsp. salt
– 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions:
In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt, set this aside.
In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine the cocoa, white sugar, vegetable oil, and butter. Once this mixture is combined, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add in the vanilla.
Add the flour mixture gradually that you set aside earlier to the bowl. This mixture will be pretty thick, and look very fudgy.
Cover the dough and chill for at least 4 hours, I did mine overnight.
Preheat your oven to 350F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Set out a plate with your powdered sugar on it, close to your batter bowl, for easy rolling. Scoop out a spoonful of dough and drop it right in the powdered sugar. Coat the dough with the powdered sugar and then roll into a ball, place on the lined cookie sheets.
Bake in your preheated oven, one tray at a time. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes. Mine came out closer to the 12 minute mark. You want to remove them when the tops are firm. They might not look completely baked but will continue to cook once out of the oven. Let them cool on their baking trays for a couple of minutes and then remove them to wire racks to finish cooling completely.

20131222-074301.jpg

20131222-074310.jpg

20131222-074318.jpg

20131222-074325.jpg

20131222-074334.jpg

20131222-074342.jpg

20131222-074355.jpg

20131222-074402.jpg

20131222-074408.jpg

20131222-080753.jpg

20131222-080800.jpg

Also, I got to put my cookies in that beautiful cookie jar! My lovely friend, Maxene bought it for me for my birthday 🙂 Josh and my birthday’s are two days apart (same year and everything) so that happened while I have been away. We turned the “old” age of 24, and were stuck in an airport overnight coming back to Georgia. Not one of the finest birthdays I’ve had, but it definitely makes for a good story and we even saw Guy Fieri from the Food Network!

Oh, and those little bags are the cookies for the neighbors 🙂

Leave a Reply

