Home » Uncategorized » The perfect Chili!

The perfect Chili!

Hi loves!
Sorry I haven’t posted much in the last week, poor Paisley came down with her very first ear infection šŸ˜¦ She usually is the most happy, go lucky child and we’ve really never experienced her being “sick”. Well, let me tell you, it’s been a rough week and now I’m very aware how she behaves when she doesn’t feel well! She’s starting to feel better and we go for her follow up appointment in a few days to make sure the infection is all cleared up. Poor baby, it just physically makes your heart ache when your babies are sick šŸ˜¦ I’m ready for my bouncy, happy girl back! I have collected quite a few recipes for you guys though as a result of her being down and out, so I’ll try and get those all posted at some point today. I spent most of nap time today tidying up the house and cleaning up the remainder of the dishes from our dinner party last night with our good friend’s. We had a delicious dinner that I documented (in photos), that I’ll be sure to get out for you also. I hope everyone’s New Year is off to a nice start!
Peace and love!

This chili is perfect, just the right amount of spices, and the perfect ratio of beans to meat to tomatoes: superb!

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef
– 3 cans diced tomatoes
– 1 can tomato sauce
– 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
– 1 can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
– 1 medium onion, diced
– 4-5 cloves garlic, minced
– 2 tbsp. chili powder
– 1 tbsp. ground cumin
– 1/2 tbsp. salt
– 1 tbsp. granulated sugar
– 1/2 tbsp. Tabasco sauce
– 1 tsp. pepper
– a bunch of shredded cheddar cheese for the top!

Directions:
Begin by browning your ground beef with the onion and garlic in a large pan with tall sides. Drain the fat and return the meat to the pan.
Add the cans of tomatoes, tomato sauce, beans, all spices, and Tabasco to the pan. Give it a big stir, and simmer for at least an hour. I let mine simmer for about 3 hours and it was perfect!

That’s it! Super simple and absolutely delicious! This recipe is exactly how chili should taste, in my opinion. You can always play around with the seasoning too and add more or less of something, according to your taste.
Enjoy!

Also, I finally found the perfect cornbread recipe, I served that with this chili and it was Heaven on Earth! Look for my cornbread post next! šŸ™‚

20140113-160204.jpg

20140113-160224.jpg

20140113-160235.jpg

20140113-160247.jpg

20140113-160302.jpg

20140113-160318.jpg

20140113-160331.jpg

20140113-160343.jpg

Leave a Reply

