Home » beef » My Favorite Pot Roast!

My Favorite Pot Roast!

The elusive pot roast. I have tried many, many crockpot pot roasts in search of that perfect one, you know the one that Grandma makes so divinely. They have all been ok, but nothing to really “write home” about, until now! I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot. It was so different than all the others, that I thought’ “this may be the one”! Well folks, I am happy to report, this is THE ONE and my search is over! Yahoo!
Our friends that own the exotic animal business, Sunshine Exotics (which you can search their name on Facebook and see the awesomeness of their business šŸ˜‰ ) came to dinner last night with their newest foreign exchange student, a young lady from France! I didn’t exactly know what to make and trying a new recipe out for company, let alone foreign company was a bit risky. Thankfully, the reward was well worth the risk, and I think I represented the U.S well with my American pot roast meal šŸ™‚ I made homemade (always) mashed potatoes to go with it, and a nice salad. My friend Max, brought some delicious challah bread, and I also baked a blackberry cheesecake for dessert (see next post)! It was quite the feast! šŸ™‚ the best part too, is that even after feeding 5 adults and a toddler, we still had leftovers to make French dips with for tonight (look for my post for those later).
So without further a due, here is the star of the show!
P.S I want to apologize in advance for the lack of pictures at the end! I completely spaced some of the end result! I did snap a quick picture this afternoon of some of the shredded meat, but please trust me, it was a beautiful sight indeed!

Ingredients:
– 1 bottom round roast (4-5 pounds) you can really use whatever roast you prefer, this is just what my store normally has
– 1 packet gravy mix (I used turkey gravy because that’s all I had on hand, I believe the original recipe calls for an au jus packet though)
– 1 ranch dressing mix packet
– 1 stick (1/2 cup) salted butter
– 5-10 peperoncinis (I used 5 just because I didn’t want it to be too overpowering, but I’ll probably use more next time).

Directions:
Place your roast in the crockpot. Sprinkle both the ranch and gravy packets on top of the roast. Place the stick of butter also on top of the roast as well as the peppers. Cover the crockpot with the lid and cook on low for 10 hours.
That’s it! So simple and absolutely perfect!

I think one of the secrets to cooking a good crockpot pot roast is not to add water or any liquid. The roast already produces such beautiful liquid on it’s own, and I think that really aids in the flavor department as well.

20140210-150310.jpg

20140210-150317.jpg

20140210-150327.jpg

20140210-150336.jpg

20140210-150355.jpg

20140210-150413.jpg

20140210-150422.jpg

20140210-150447.jpg

Leave a Reply

