Home » chicken » Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

I’m always on the prowl for recipes to add to my collection that are a little “outside the box” of my cooking realm. I make quite a few Mexican dishes, but somehow fajitas always seem to get overlooked. I’ve honestly never made them myself, but my goodness are they amazing! I know my husband would have preferred steak fajitas, but chicken is what I had defrosted so I went with that. You can certainly replace steak for the chicken though, and it would be equally delicious! I was really impressed with this recipe and fully enjoyed my dinner tonight šŸ™‚

Ingredients:
– 2 large chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
– 2 medium green bell peppers
– 1 red bell pepper
– 1 medium sized yellow onion
– fajita seasoning packet (you can certainly make your own fajita seasoning, I just went with the easy way out) šŸ˜‰
– olive oil, about 2 tbsp.
– lime juice to taste, I used about 2 tbsp.
– flour tortillas (wheat would also be wonderful)!
– shredded cheddar cheese
– sour cream
– fresh cilantro

Directions:
Begin by preheating your oven to 400F.
Slice your onions, and bell peppers into strips, about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Place the vegetables in a 9×13-inch baking dish.
Next, slice your chicken breasts into thin strips and add them to the baking dish with the vegetables. Sprinkle on your fajita seasoning mix, then drizzle your olive oil over the seasonings evenly. Mix everything together, making sure the vegetables and chicken are evenly coated.
Bake uncovered for 35-40 minutes, stirring once halfway through.
Once your dish comes out, squeeze some lime juice on top, it will add a nice refreshing depth of flavor.
Spoon the mixture into warmed tortillas, and top with shredded cheddar, sour cream, a bit more lime, and fresh cilantro!
A perfect Spring meal šŸ™‚ Enjoy!

20140417-210346.jpg

20140417-210355.jpg

20140417-210404.jpg

20140417-210412.jpg

20140417-210420.jpg

20140417-210430.jpg

20140417-210439.jpg

20140417-210445.jpg

20140417-210522.jpg

Leave a Reply

