Home » cakes » No Bake Strawberry Cheesecake

No Bake Strawberry Cheesecake

Oh cheesecake, one of my absolute favorite desserts. One of my dearest friend’s came over this week and we had a “baking” day 🙂 Being a type 1 diabetic, I can eat anything that “normal” people do, but it’s nice when I find things that are slightly lower in carbs so I don’t have to take as much insulin. Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes (the one that most people are familiar with) are complete night and day, if you’re unfamiliar with type 1 you should google it. The only thing really the same between the two types are the names. Type 1 is an autoimmune disease where the body attacks itself and kills off the insulin producing organ, the pancreas. people with type 1 like myself, have to take artificial insulin either through shots or an insulin pump (what I use) with anything that they eat. As long as type 1s test their blood sugar regularly and take insulin accordingly there are no rules or regulations to anything that we can or cannot eat. I’m always praying for a cure and I do believe that there will be one in my lifetime. I’m a very well controlled Type 1 and I feel really thankful that I have the means to control it the way I do and the resources and tools that help me stay healthy and live the life I want.
Anyways, this recipe has very few ingredients in it and is a cinch to whip up! You’ll love it!

Ingredients:
– 1 (8 oz) brick cream cheese, we used fat free
– 1 cup heavy whipping cream
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar plus 2 tsp.
– 4 tbsp. (1/2 a stick) butter, melted
– 8-10 graham crackers processed down into crumbs
– fresh strawberries

In the bowl of your stand mixer, beat the cream cheese, whipping cream, and sugar together until incorporated well.
Combine the graham cracker crumbs and the melted butter together in a medium sized bowl. Press the crumbs into a pie pan and bake in a 350F preheated oven for about 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and set on a wire rack to cool.
Once the crust is cooled, pour the cream cheese mixture into the pie plate. Place the pie in the fridge and let firm up about 2-3 hours. Due to the nature of this pie, it’s going to be a little soft, so don’t worry if it doesn’t get really firm.
While the cheesecake is firming, slice your berries and mix them with 2 tsp. of sugar. Place in the fridge for at least an hour to chill and produce the natural syrup.
When ready to serve, remove both from the fridge, and serve the strawberries on top of the cheesecake.
Enjoy! 🙂

20140424-222617.jpg

20140424-222624.jpg

20140424-222639.jpg

20140424-222646.jpg

20140424-222652.jpg

20140424-222659.jpg

20140424-222705.jpg

20140424-222711.jpg

Leave a Reply

