Home » Uncategorized » Stuffed Green Pepper Casserole

Stuffed Green Pepper Casserole

I really enjoy stuffed green peppers, but I find they are a tad of the pain to make and don’t save too well for leftovers. When I stumbled upon this casserole it intrigued me and I figured I would give it a try. I’m really happy that I decided to, because it was great and a perfect alternative to actually stuffing the whole peppers. Yum!

Ingredients:
– 1 pound lean ground beef
– 1/2 cup diced onion
– 2 large green peppers, diced
– 2 cloves garlic, minced
– 14 oz. can diced tomatoes (drained)
– 8 oz. tomato sauce
– 1/2 cup beef broth
– 1/2 cup long grain brown rice
– 3 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
– 1/2 tsp. salt
– 1/4 tsp. pepper
– 1 cup shredded mozzarella or cheddar cheese (I used moz. when I made this, but I think I’ll go with cheddar next time because it’s just so stringy)!

Directions:
In a large skillet, add your ground beef and garlic and cook until browned. Drain fat and return to pan.
Transfer the meat mixture to an 8×11-inch baking dish. Add the rest of your ingredients right to the baking dish (except the cheese) and give it a big stir. Cover with foil and bake for about 1 hour. Check the rice after the hour, I had to cook mine for about an additional 15-20 minutes so the rice would be cooked correctly.
Remove casserole from the oven, sprinkle with cheese and put it back in to bake for about 5 more minutes. Let it firm up for about 10 minutes after removing it from the oven. Serve with warm bread.

IMG_5211.JPG

IMG_5213.JPG

IMG_5214.JPG

IMG_5215.JPG

IMG_5217.JPG

IMG_5219.JPG

IMG_5220.JPG

IMG_5230.JPG

IMG_5229.JPG

IMG_5232.JPG

IMG_5235.JPG

Leave a Reply

