Home » baked goods » Double Chocolate Brownies

Double Chocolate Brownies

Oh brownies, I do love brownies! So Paisley and I were in the baking mood the other day and decided to make brownies for Dad when he got home. Everyone in our house loves them and it’s one of those things that I just haven’t made in a long time. I didn’t even have a recipe for brownies, so I went looking and stumbled upon this one. The recipe was pretty straight forward and used butter (not oil), and had a whole 12 ounces of chocolate chips included in the recipe! I took a chance and made a batch and I’m So happy I did! They are divine and I think will be my new go-to brownie recipe! Sometimes I like my brownies frosted, my mom used to make them that way growing up, but to be honest I didn’t even miss the frosting since there’s so much delectable chocolate in the actual brownie itself. These were dense, but not heavy, thick, chewy, soft, and plump full of chocolate! The perfect brownie in my book! šŸ™‚

Ingredients:
– 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1/2 tsp. baking soda
– 2/3 cup melted butter, divided
– 1/2 cup boiling water
– 2 cups sugar
– 2 eggs
– 1 1/3 cups flour
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract
– 1/4 tsp. salt
– 12 ounces semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×13-inch baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.
In a large bowl, combine cocoa and baking soda. Add in 1/3 cup melted butter and the boiling water. Stir to incorporate.
Stir in sugar, eggs, and the remaining butter. Next add the flour, vanilla, and salt. Stir in the chocolate chips.
Pour mixture into your prepared pan and bake in the preheated oven for 35-40 minutes. Check the brownies around the 35 minute mark, I had to increase the cooking time on mine. I would say it was closer to 50 minutes, but all ovens vary so just keep an eye on them to make sure they aren’t burning.
Remove once a knife inserted comes out clean.
Serve warm with a big glass of milk or serve with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream on top! Yum!

PS sorry for the lack of pictures until the end, I was baking with a toddler! šŸ˜‰

IMG_5612.JPG

IMG_5610.JPG

IMG_5611.JPG

Leave a Reply

