Home » baked goods » Lactation Cookies 

Lactation Cookies 

After I had Olivia I unfortunately ended up back in the hospital a week later with an infection. Since we didn’t want the baby being exposed to any germs while I was there she just stayed home with my husband. I tried to pump while I was there but didn’t keep up with it enough and my milk supply took a huge hit. After returning home I did a lot of research on ways to get my milk supply back up. I came across lactation cookies which have Brewer’s Yeast, Flax Seed, and Oatmeal in them. All which are known to increase milk supply. I looked at a lot of different recipes until I found one that looked good. The great thing about these cookies is they taste great and even people who are not nursing mother’s enjoy them. 

Ingredients: 

– 1 cup butter, softened 

– 1 cup sugar 

– 1 cup brown sugar, packed 

– 4 tbsp. Water 

-2 tbsp. Flaxseed meal 

-2 eggs 

– 1 tsp. vanilla extract 

– 2 cups all purpose flour (I may experiment with whole wheat flour next time) 

– 1 tsp. baking soda 

– 1 tsp. salt 

– 3 cups old fashioned rolled oats (not the instant kind) 

– 2 cups chocolate chips 

– 4 tbsp. Brewer’s yeast 

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350F. 

Mix the flaxseed meal with the water and let sit 5 minutes. 

Sift  together the flour, Brewer’s yeast, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. 

Add the butter, and both sugars to the mixer and beat well. 

Add eggs one at a time, and beat well after each addition. 

Add the dry ingredients to the mixer and beat until everything is incorporated. 

Fold in the rolled oats and the chocolate chips. 

Using a cookie scoop, drop dough onto silpat lined baking sheets and bake in your preheated oven for 12 minutes. 

Once you remove the cookies from the oven, allow them to sit for a few minutes before removing them to cooling racks to cool completely. 

   

   

Leave a Reply

