Home » Uncategorized » Cauliflower Rice Ground Beef Casserole 

Cauliflower Rice Ground Beef Casserole 

I have been very curious about this cauliflower rice business. As a Type 1 Diabetic, I tend to gravitate toward meals with lower carbs so I don’t have to take as much insulin; so this really intrigued me as a rice substitute. Rice is pretty high in carbs and long acting, both of which can spell trouble for Diabetics. When I do decide to eat it, it’s brown rice and in a very small quantity. With that being said, I loved the idea of a rice replacement that is low carb, especially since rice is such a versatile meal component. So I did a lot of research and figured out the method and gave it a whirl! After trying the cauliflower rice, I am proud to say I’m a believer and so is my husband and two young daughters (ages 2 and 5).  The only really negative thing I have to say about it is the smell of grated cauliflower is not great and even worse the next morning, so try and remember to take out your trash that night! Besides, that I really enjoyed it and you can spice it up anyway you want. The first time I made it, I grated the cauliflower with a cheese grater, but the second time, I bought “riced cauliflower” at Trader Joe’s in the produce section. I will probably just buy the bagged version from now on seeing as they’ve done all the work for you without adding any additives, at that! I hope you try it and like it as much as we do! Look for my post on Chicken Stir-Fry with Cauliflower Rice next! 

Ingredients: 

– 1 head of cauliflower, grated with the side you would use to grate cheese OR you can buy the “Riced Cauliflower” at Trader Joe’s. 

– 1 tbsp. Olive oil 

– 1 lb. ground beef 

– onion and garlic powder, salt, pepper, and seasoning salt, to taste 

– Worcestershire sauce, to taste 

– 1- 1 1/2 cups frozen peas 

– 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese 

Directions: 

For the Cauliflower Rice: 

– Begin by grating your head of cauliflower. Once grated move to a large area lined with paper towels and squeeze the water out of the grated cauliflower. 

For the Casserole: 

   Begin by browning your ground beef. Once browned, season the meat with your choice of seasonings. I used worstershire, salt, pepper, onion and garlic powders. Add in the frozen peas and allow the peas to cook through. 

   Next, add the olive oil to a large pan and once heated add the grated cauliflower. Sauté the cauliflower for about 5 minutes and then put a lid on your pan and cook for another 5 minutes, just until the cauliflower is tender. Once it is cooked, add the ground beef and pea mixture and give it a good stir. Top with the shredded cheese and Place the lid back on and allow the cheese to melt. Once the cheese is melted, scoop the casserole onto plates and serve with a side of fresh fruit. 

FYI: you may notice in these pictures, there is a section that does not have cheese. My oldest daughter does not care for cheese so I left it off the top of hers! 

Leave a comment